Loading Courses

Courses Search and Views Navigation

Course Views Navigation

May 2019

WOVEN TAPESTRY: OUTLINING

May 15th at 18:30 to May 17th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Outline an image within a tapestry using a woven line. Perfect for those with some experience. Louise Martin (Clackmannanshire www.highamhall.com/louise-martin) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166 (CAMOUFLAGE precedes)

Find out more »

CALLIGRAPHY: MODERN SCRIPTS (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

May 17th at 18:30 to May 19th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Develop calligraphy skills with more modern scripts suitable for most uses such as greeting cards, invitations, notices, labels, short quotations, etc. Be guided step-by-step to produce high-quality work. For any level, including experienced. Materials provided. Dr Manny Ling (Sunderland www.highamhall.com/manny-ling) Residential: £253 Non-residential: £186 inc. materials

Find out more »

OIL PAINTING IN A DAY (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

May 18th at 09:30 to 17:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Wished you could paint in oil? Create an oil painting on canvas in a day. Following a simple step-by-step demo of a wet-on-wet technique, learn as you go. End up with a completed canvas to take home. Carol Renshaw (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/carol-renshaw) £88 incl. all materials and lunch

Find out more »

PASTEL, WATERCOLOUR AND CHARCOAL: GARDEN IMPRESSIONS

May 19th at 18:30 to May 24th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Explore exciting watercolour, pastel, charcoal and mixed-media painting with colourful and dynamic painting subjects all over our wonderful grounds. Also, two excursions (weather permitting) to Mirehouse's mature gardens and the lakeshore to paint and draw amidst dramatic Lakeland scenery. Robert Dutton (Yorkshire www.highamhall.com/robert-dutton) Residential: £545 Non-residential: £388 (inc. Field Trips and Admissions)

Find out more »

BOTANICAL COLOURED PENCIL: YOUR OWN CHELSEA FLOWER SHOW

May 19th at 18:30 to May 24th at 09:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Inspired by, and concurrent with, the major RHS event, whether beginner or experienced, work at your own pace in a relaxed atmosphere with individual attention and demos. Try a variety of papers and many types of coloured pencils. Susan Christopher-Coulson (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/susan-christopher-coulson) Residential: £485 Non-residential: £323 (inc. Field Trip to Blackwell Arts and Crafts House)

Find out more »

MOBILE WATERCOLOURS THE MODERN WAY (MATERIALS PROVIDED, NO FIELD TRIPS)

May 24th at 18:30 to May 28th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* Produce satisfying art work just with Watercolour Pencils and Waterbrush. With a small range of well-chosen, quality colours provided, make powerful and expressive work on paper, outdoors and in the studio. Guided by Lionel, enjoy experimenting with just the minimum of equipment to make beautiful results. We will use the grounds and building as subject matter. For anyone. Lionel Playford (N. Pennines www.highamhall.com/lionel-playford) Residential: £443 Non-residential: £314 inc. Materials

Find out more »

DRAWING AND PAINTING HORSES

May 28th at 18:30 to May 31st at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Equine Art is a must for every serious Artist. Using tried and tested techniques, draw and paint these beautiful animals. Alex has exhibited at the Society of Equestrian Artists and for decades has owned and drawn horses. We will try to visit a real-life stables to for sketches! Alex Jakob-Whitworth (Eden Valley www.highamhall.com/alex-jakob-whitworth) Residential: £348 Non-residential: £249 (inc. Field Trip - dress for Cumbria weather!)

Find out more »

KNOW YOUR TREES AND WOODLAND (3 NIGHT)

May 30th at 18:30 to June 2nd at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Some gentle level walking through woods to collect specimens and identify trees in leaf. Develop your relationship with trees and their ecosystem, guided by a respected, patient expert in one of the most stunning areas of our country. Paul Nichol (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/paul-nichol) Residential: £338 Non-residential: £239 (inc. Field Trips)

Find out more »

June 2019

BREAKING RULES IN WATERCOLOUR: SEASCAPES AND BEYOND

June 2nd at 18:30 to June 5th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Suitable for everyone who wishes to stretch their Watercolour ability to achieve some spectacular results. Be shown how to represent water in nature to convey energy, life and dynamism. Enjoy the time to try fully the techniques yourself, going on to develop your own work in several different contexts including beach scenes with rocks . Your tutor can also advise you on other aspects of your watercolour work. Jason Skill (Northumberland www.highamhall.com/jason-skill) Residential: £328 Non-residential: £229

Find out more »

VICTORIAN ARTISTS: THEIR WORK, MODELS AND MUSES

June 5th at 18:30 to June 7th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* Examine various art genres of the exciting Victorian era: Pre-Raphaelitism, Neoclassicism, The Aesthetic Movement and Social Realism - with reference to the highly-significant role of Models and their relationships, professional and otherwise, with the foremost Artists of the day. Dr Peter Bryden (E. Sussex www.highamhall.com/peter-bryden) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166

Find out more »
+ Export Events