Loading Courses

Upcoming Courses › CRAFTS

Courses Search and Views Navigation

Find Courses

Course Views Navigation

Courses Search

November 2018

WILDLIFE WOODCARVING (WEEKEND)

November 9th at 18:30 to November 11th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Use various tools and techniques to create a finished bird, mammal or fish (Song Thrush, Crested Grebe, Swan, Owl, Otter, Stoat, Squirrel...) with suggestions on how to mount and display. Amaze yourself and develop a new rewarding hobby. For both novice and developing carvers. Ron Dickens (www.highamhall.com/ron-dickens) & David Harter (www.highamhall.com/david-harter) Residential: £251 Non-residential: £184

Find out more »

CALLIGRAPHY: UNCIALS SCRIPT (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

November 9th at 18:30 to November 11th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

An introduction to using Uncials, a majuscule script (written entirely in capitals) commonly used from the 4th to 8th Century by Latin and Greek scribes which also works very well with modern texts. For absolute beginners, but more advanced techniques will be taught for more experienced calligraphers. All materials provided. Dr Manny Ling (Sunderland www.highamhall.com/manny-ling) Residential: £251 Non-residential: £184 inc. materials

Find out more »

KAY LEECH’S ‘CONNECTIONS’

November 11th at 13:00 to November 30th at 19:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Free exhibition by our first Friends of Higham Scholarship Student, who has incorporated aspects of several courses in a ranges of textile pieces linking geology, art and craft: a 6 ft quilted hanging based on the Geologic Timescale to a small 3D piece based upon a crystal geode and incorporating freeform crochet buttons. Exhibition runs from 11 - 30 Nov and Kay will be 'in residence' on Sat 17, Tue 20 and Thu 29 Nov (10am-5pm each day) FREE -…

Find out more »

SCHOLARSHIP SHOWCASE AND EXHIBITION LAUNCH

November 11th at 14:00 to 17:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

The winner of the first Friends of Higham Scholarship, Kay Leech, will present her final project, launching her exhibition of around 10 pieces of her subsequent work. Kay's scholarship funded her on several courses and challenged her to reflect elements of her learning. Kay Leech & Friends of Higham (Cumbria - www.highamhall.com/kay-leech) Places are FREE but must be reserved. Refreshments (honesty box). Supported by the Friends of Higham. Kay's Exhibition runs from 11 - 30 Nov and she will be…

Find out more »

HANDSEWN FABRIC BOXES (2 of 2)

November 11th at 18:30 to November 13th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

See 9 Nov. Elaine Hicks (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/elaine-hicks) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164 (Specialist items available from Tutor)

Find out more »

CALICO GARDENS EMBROIDERY (3 NIGHT)

November 13th at 18:30 to November 16th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Hand stitches in neutral shades with subtle enhancements creating texture and 3D effects. Beginners or experienced welcome, work on either a Calico Garden Sampler to frame or your own project. Angie Burt (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/angie-burt) Residential: £324 Non-residential: £226

Find out more »

TEXTILE ART USING HOOKY & PRODDY

November 13th at 18:30 to November 16th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Design and create an artistic hanging or rug from non-furnishing fabrics using this traditional technique on hessian backing. Bring scissors and your own scraps if you like. Equipment provided. Easy to get started, but can become a worthwhile obsession! Heather Ritchie (N. Yorkshire www.highamhall.com/heather-ritchie) Residential: £324 Non-residential: £226

Find out more »

UPHOLSTERY WEEKEND

November 16th at 18:30 to November 18th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Hands-on! Bring chair, stool, ottoman, headboard... build up from scratch or just re-cover, tackle interior paddings with traditional or modern techniques. Simon will make prior contact to advise on materials. Simon Ireland (N. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/simon-ireland) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164 Materials at cost

Find out more »

CROCHET PLAY AWAY

November 18th at 18:30 to November 21st at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

All levels: Enjoy the world of Crochet - Explore different techniques, pick up tips, develop skills through graded projects or, if experienced, even bring your own Unfinished Objects!. With time to play and experiment, get it right with gentle, inspirational guidance from the basics to more advanced, from an internationally respected expert. Feel free to discuss your possible project(s) beforehand: paulineturner@crochet.co.uk Pauline Turner (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/pauline-turner) Pauline was chosen as the 2018 Inductee for Crochet Guild of America Hall of Fame.…

Find out more »

STAINED GLASS CHRISTMAS DECORATIONS

November 25th at 18:30 to November 28th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Make your own Christmas decorations and ornaments in Stained Glass - Nativity scenes, free standing angels, flying angels, Father Christmases etc. Tuition will be given in glass cutting, copper foiling and assembly. Bring your own designs or use those supplied. Bill Davies (Wirral www.highamhall.com/bill-davies) Residential: £324 Non-residential: £226

Find out more »
+ Export Events