Loading Courses

Upcoming Courses › CRAFTS

Courses Search and Views Navigation

Course Views Navigation

June 2021

RUSKIN LACE

June 16th at 18:30 to June 18th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Drawn thread and cut linen work with geometric designs using needlepoint lace techniques. Suitable for both beginners (starter pack £12 from Tutor), and experienced. Karen Quickfall (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/karen-quickfall) Residential: £242 Non-residential: £172

Find out more »

July 2021

PEWTERWORK JEWELLERY: BROOCHES, PENDANTS AND MORE

July 4th at 18:30 to July 8th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Come and learn to give form and texture to flat sheet metal. Popularised by the Arts and Crafts Movement, Pewterwork uses no heat, heavy tools, or machinery. Simple hand-held tools and an ability to follow direction are all that are needed to produce decorative pieces to wear or give as gifts. Bonnie Mackintosh (W. Sussex www.highamhall.com/bonnie-mackintosh) Residential: £436 Non-residential: £304 (Materials supplied at cost)

Find out more »

WOODCARVING: WHITTLING AND CARVING WILDLIFE (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

July 9th at 18:30 to July 11th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Use various basic tools and techniques to create a finished bird, mammal or fish (including Song Thrush, Great Crested Grebe, Owl, Otter, Squirrel...) with suggestions on how to mount and display. Amaze yourself and, perhaps, develop a rewarding hobby. For both novices and developing carvers. David Harter (www.highamhall.com/david-harter) Residential: £262 Non-residential: £192 (inc. Materials)

Find out more »

BOOKBINDING: PLAYTIME

July 16th at 18:30 to July 19th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

A weekend of completing projects you may have started elsewhere or an opportunity to begin a new one and need a helping hand. There will also be a chance to do some Gold Foil tooling on Skiver labels and maybe have a go at making Decorative Papers using various simple techniques such as paste and acrylic paints or inks. Let us just see what can be accomplished. Doug Mitchell (Northamptonshire www.highamhall.com/doug-mitchell) Residential: £340 Non-residential: £239 (Materials at cost)

Find out more »

CERAMIC SCULPTURE: GET A-HEAD!

July 19th at 18:30 to July 25th at 09:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Make face and head sculptures up to 30cm tall to be glazed and fired in a raku kiln at the end. Make a single larger piece using Cumbrian brick clay, fired later by us when dry. This is the real deal! Martin Copley (S. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/martin-copley) with Kay Latto Residential: £601 Non-residential: £407

Find out more »

August 2021

CALICO GARDENS EMBROIDERY

August 6th at 18:30 to August 9th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Hand stitches in neutral shades with subtle enhancements creating texture and 3D effects. Beginners or experienced welcome, work on either a Calico Garden Sampler to frame or your own project. Angie Burt (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/angie-burt) Residential: £340 Non-residential: £239

Find out more »

SILVER JEWELLERY: BANGLES, RINGS AND EARRINGS

August 6th at 18:30 to August 9th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* Create three beautiful Silver pieces: a bangle, a spinner ring and a pair of simple drop earrings. Put your own stamp on your designs so each will be very individual. Techniques include: saw piercing, roll printing, metal forming, hammering, texturing, soldering and finishing. Hands-on, intensive and step-by-step, ideal for beginners but more experienced students who can opt out of group projects welcome - please let Tutor know if so. NEW TUTOR: Rebecca Halstead (Edinburgh www.highamhall.com/rebecca-halstead) Residential: £340 Non-residential: £239…

Find out more »

WOODCARVING: RELIEF AND CREATIVE

August 9th at 18:30 to August 15th at 09:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Transform a block of wood into a unique picture. Bring ideas or use Sharon's books for inspiration. Transfer a pattern, use chisels, learn techniques. Beginners and experienced. Sharon Littley (S. Wales www.highamhall.com/sharon-littley) Residential: £579 Non-residential: £399

Find out more »

SCULPTURAL NEEDLEFELT

August 12th at 18:30 to August 15th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* Create a high quality, characterful 3D sculpture, 12-18 inches in size, from wool fibre based on a wire armature. Theme choices include an art-deco figure, a stone carving or a caricature. Sympathetic, patient guidance from an outstanding felt artist (www.furzie.co.uk). Both experienced and beginners welcome. NEW TUTOR: Furzie aka Michelle Hickman (Gloucestershire www.highamhall.com/michelle-hickman) Residential: £340 Non-residential: £239 (Materials c£20)

Find out more »

MAKE A FELTED LANDSCAPE (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

August 15th at 18:30 to August 17th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* A hands-on introduction to Felt Making. Create sample pieces to explore different ways of producing colour and texture on felt. Use these to design your own unique felt picture. No experience required. NEW TUTOR: Fiona Moir (Dumfries www.highamhall.com/fiona-moir) Residential: £248 Non-residential: £179 (inc. Materials)

Find out more »
+ Export Events