Loading Courses

Upcoming Courses › CRAFTS

Courses Search and Views Navigation

Course Views Navigation

May 2019

CALLIGRAPHY: MODERN SCRIPTS (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

May 17th at 18:30 to May 19th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Develop calligraphy skills with more modern scripts suitable for most uses such as greeting cards, invitations, notices, labels, short quotations, etc. Be guided step-by-step to produce high-quality work. For any level, including experienced. Materials provided. Dr Manny Ling (Sunderland www.highamhall.com/manny-ling) Residential: £253 Non-residential: £186 inc. materials

Find out more »

GOLDWORK

May 20th at 18:30 to May 22nd at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Goldwork covers all aspects of embroidery using metal threads and materials. Introducing beginners to the basic techniques and encouraging the experienced to develop their designs, everyone can work at their own pace with individual expert guidance throughout. Jane Matthews (Yorkshire www.highamhall.com/jane-matthews) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166 STITCHED BEADED JEWELLERY follows.

Find out more »

STITCHED BEADED JEWELLERY

May 22nd at 18:30 to May 24th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

New students may enjoy the thrill of making a first piece and more experienced can develop skills, progressing towards Advanced with Projects to choose from. All abilities, from basic stitches developing through to freeform. Jane Matthews (ex-York Minster broderer) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166 GOLDWORK precedes.

Find out more »

UPHOLSTERY WEEKEND

May 24th at 18:30 to May 26th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Hands-on! Bring chair, stool, ottoman, headboard... build up from scratch or just re-cover, tackle interior paddings with traditional or modern techniques. Simon will make prior contact to advise on materials. Simon Ireland (N. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/simon-ireland) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166 Materials at cost

Find out more »

TEXTILE ART USING HOOKY AND PRODDY

May 26th at 18:30 to May 30th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Design and create an artistic hanging or rug from non-furnishing fabrics using this traditional technique on hessian backing. Bring scissors and your own scraps if you like. Equipment provided. Easy to get started, but can become a worthwhile obsession! Heather Ritchie (N. Yorkshire www.highamhall.com/heather-ritchie) Residential: £423 Non-residential: £294

Find out more »

CALICO GARDENS EMBROIDERY (3 NIGHT)

May 28th at 18:30 to May 31st at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Hand stitches in neutral shades with subtle enhancements creating texture and 3D effects. Beginners or experienced welcome, work on either a Calico Garden Sampler to frame or your own project. Angie Burt (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/angie-burt) Residential: £328 Non-residential: £229

Find out more »

TORCH-FIRED ENAMEL BEADS

May 31st at 18:30 to June 4th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Every bead is unique! Experiment with different effects and colours for exciting necklace and earrings, or just an unusual pendant. Thread professionally, use a variety of findings. Inspirational and fun for both existing beaders and newbies. NEW TUTOR: Sharon Ford (Cambridge www.highamhall.com/sharon-ford) Sharon has replaced Janet Notman (retired). Residential: £438 Non-residential: £311 inc. First bottle of gas. (Materials c£50 depending on what you choose)

Find out more »

June 2019

GET WEAVING! COLOURS, TEXTURES AND PATTERNS

June 2nd at 18:30 to June 5th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Weave on a beautiful table top loom (provided), exploring the use of colour and textile. Learn how to follow and read weave patterns and, naturally, how to set the loom up! Jan Beadle (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/jan-beadle) Residential: £328 Non-residential: £229 Yarns £15 max from Tutor.

Find out more »

RUSKIN LACE

June 5th at 18:30 to June 7th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Drawn thread and cut linen work with geometric designs using needlepoint lace techniques. Suitable for both beginners (starter pack £12 from tutor), and experienced. Karen Quickfall (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/karen-quickfall) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166

Find out more »

CHINESE PAINTING (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

June 10th at 18:30 to June 12th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Extend creativity and be guided by an expert in a traditional craft reflecting both philosophy and tradition. Learn brush techniques, develop sensitive hand control. No experience, not even art, required! Chi Zhang (Edinburgh www.highamhall.com/chi-zhang) Residential: £253 Non-residential: £186 inc. all materials

Find out more »
+ Export Events