Loading Courses
Find Courses

Event Views Navigation

Upcoming Courses › CRAFTS

Courses List Navigation

May 2018

SILK PAINTING DAY (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

May 16th at 10:00 to 17:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Discover the secrets of creating vibrant, magical colour when painting on silk. Practise first, then design a main piece, choosing from scarf, cushion cover, cards etc. Design templates and images provided or bring your own. For beginners and experienced. Pippa Sheather (N. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/pippa-sheather) £74 inc. all materials, lunch & refreshments

Find out more »

WOVEN TAPESTRY: DOUBLE AND SINGLE WEAVING

May 16th at 18:30 to May 18th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Combine single and double weave to create an interesting and sophisticated surface. Perfect for both beginners and those with some experience. Louise Martin (Clackmannanshire www.highamhall.com/louise-martin) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164 Follows SOUMAK.

Find out more »

GOLDWORK

May 16th at 18:30 to May 18th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Goldwork covers all aspects of embroidery using metal threads and materials. Introducing beginners to the basic techniques and encouraging the experienced to develop their designs, everyone can work at their own pace with individual expert guidance throughout. Jane Matthews (Yorkshire www.highamhall.com/jane-matthews) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164 STITCHED BEADED JEWELLERY follows.

Find out more »

PEWTERWORK ON GLASS

May 17th at 18:30 to May 20th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Cut your chosen designs from thin sheet pewter and apply them to coloured glass vases or mirror tiles. For Intermediate/advanced students with good knife skills, any Beginners will work on a mirror tile. Bonnie Mackintosh (W. Sussex www.highamhall.com/bonnie-mackintosh) Residential: £329 Non-residential: £231 Materials supplied by tutor at cost.

Find out more »

STITCHED BEADED JEWELLERY

May 18th at 18:30 to May 20th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

New students may enjoy the thrill of making a first piece and more experienced can develop skills, progressing towards Advanced with Projects to choose from. All abilities, from basic stitches developing through to freeform. Jane Matthews (ex-York Minster broderer) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164 GOLDWORK precedes.

Find out more »

TEXTILE ART USING HOOKY AND PRODDY

May 21st at 18:30 to May 25th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Design and create an artistic hanging or rug from non-furnishing fabrics using this traditional technique on hessian backing. Bring scissors and your own scraps if you like. Equipment provided. Easy to get started, but can become a worthwhile obsession! Heather Ritchie (N. Yorkshire www.highamhall.com/heather-ritchie) Residential: £418 Non-residential: £291

Find out more »

UPHOLSTERY WEEKEND

May 25th at 18:30 to May 27th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Hands-on! Bring chair, stool, ottoman, headboard... build up from scratch or just re-cover, tackle interior paddings with traditional or modern techniques. Simon will make prior contact to advise on materials. Simon Ireland (N. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/simon-ireland) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164 Materials at cost

Find out more »

CALICO GARDENS EMBROIDERY (3 NIGHT)

May 29th at 18:30 to June 1st at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Hand stitches in neutral shades with subtle enhancements creating texture and 3D effects. Beginners or experienced welcome, work on either a Calico Garden Sampler to frame or your own project. Angie Burt (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/angie-burt) Residential: £324 Non-residential: £226

Find out more »
June 2018

GET WEAVING! COLOURS, TEXTURES AND PATTERNS

June 3rd at 18:30 to June 6th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Weave on a beautiful table top loom (provided), exploring the use of colour and textile. Learn how to follow and read weave patterns and, naturally, how to set the loom up! Jan Beadle (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/jan-beadle) Residential: £324 Non-residential: £226 Yarns £15 max from Tutor.

Find out more »

BUILD YOUR OWN CORACLE

June 3rd at 18:30 to June 5th at 16:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Simple & fun, build this surprisingly light, capable and easy to carry craft (fits in a hatchback). Laminate timber to form the gunwale; weave, steam, bend and fix ash timber strips; attach and waterproof a canvas covering. Ends on the last day at 4pm. Work in pairs if you like. Mark Aplin (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/mark-aplin) £165 per coracle plus: Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164 (Materials included)

Find out more »
+ Export Events