Loading Courses
Find Courses

Event Views Navigation

Past Courses › LAST MINUTE

Courses List Navigation

April 2018

OIL PAINTING IN A DAY – WATERSCAPES (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

April 12th at 09:30 to 17:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Create an oil painting on canvas in a day. Following a simple step-by-step demo of a wet-on-wet technique, learn as you go. All materials provided. Limited spaces. Carol Renshaw (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/carol-renshaw) £84 incl. all materials. Another day (LANDSCAPE) precedes. Attend both, save £20.

Find out more »

HOW TO PAINT BUILDINGS IN WATERCOLOURS DAY

April 13th at 09:30 to 16:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

A day to learn just how to get your buildings right, with a greatly-experienced tutor. Jane Beech (Cheshire www.highamhall.com/jane-beech) £64 including lunch & refreshments

Find out more »

MAKE THE MOST OF WATER-SOLUBLE PENCILS (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

April 13th at 18:30 to April 15th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

An exciting and versatile medium that can be used solo or combined with other materials. See a variety of techniques, from using pencils as a source of paint to creating a range of textures and effects. Jane Beech (Cheshire www.highamhall.com/jane-beech) Residential: £241 Non-residential: £174 inc. materials

Find out more »

RECORDER ENSEMBLES

April 13th at 18:30 to April 15th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

For intermediate players (roughly Grades 4-6 AB/TCL). Music range from Renaissance to the present, from three to eight or more parts. Technical and stylistic guidance as appropriate. Annemarie Klein (Edinburgh www.highamhall.com/annemarie-klein) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164

Find out more »

TALK & TEA: WHAT IS THE POINT OF RELIGION IN A SECULAR AGE?

April 15th at 14:00 to 16:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

This TALK was postponed from Sun 18th March (bad weather for Trevor!) so is now on Sun 15th April 2018. Commonly regarded as outdated, how can Religion be intellectually justified when many scientists deny its cognitive claims and refute the reality of spirituality? Yet our age is not settling down to a comfortable unbelief, and secularisation may open up new possibilities for faith and different futures for Religion. NEW TUTOR: Trevor Pitt (Co. Durham www.highamhall.com/trevor-pitt) £16 including refreshments

Find out more »

ART NOUVEAU (LINE AND WASH)

April 15th at 18:30 to April 18th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Art Nouveau became the late 19th Century link between Fine and Applied Art, its decorative organic form exemplified in the work of Alphonse Mucha. Explore his work using Ink and Watercolour. Linda Birch (Co. Durham www.highamhall.com/linda-birch) Residential: £324 Non-residential: £226

Find out more »

ART APPRECIATION: A JOURNEY INTO MODERNITY

April 18th at 18:30 to April 20th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

The pioneering new direction for Western Art including Picasso, Matisse, Van Gogh, the Cubists and Surrealists - with a profusion of original styles and startling compositions, their contribution shaped early 20th Century Art. Bertram Aitchison (Dumfries www.highamhall.com/bertram-aitchison) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164

Find out more »

CALICO GARDENS EMBROIDERY (WEEKEND)

April 20th at 18:30 to April 22nd at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Hand stitches in neutral shades with subtle enhancements creating texture and 3D effects. Beginners or experienced welcome, work on either a Calico Garden Sampler to frame or your own project. Angie Burt (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/angie-burt) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164

Find out more »

CRUSADES AND TEMPLARS

April 22nd at 18:30 to April 25th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

The concepts of Crusading and the iconic Knights Templar give fascinating insights into Medieval attitudes to the idea of 'Holy War', also to older established notions of Pilgrimage and Veneration of holy sites and relics. Includes minibus visits to Temple Sowerby, Acorn Bank and St John€'s in the Vale. Dr. Geoff Doel with Fran Doel, MA (Kent www.highamhall.com/geoff-fran-doel) Residential: £364 Non-residential: £266 inc. Trips & admissions

Find out more »

PAIINTING IN OILS WITH CERI ALLEN

April 22nd at 18:30 to April 24th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

For beginners and revisitors to this most popular of mediums, favoured by artists for centuries. Explore the history along with demos of modern day techniques. Be guided through the processes with tips and gentle guidance. Ceri Allen (Carlisle www.highamhall.com/ceri-allen) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164

Find out more »
+ Export Events