Loading Courses

Past Courses › PASTIMES

Courses Search and Views Navigation

Course Views Navigation

February 2019

STRING CHAMBER MUSIC WORKSHOP

February 10th at 16:30 to February 12th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

A country house - ideal for chamber music. Preformed strings or piano groups can join us for 2 days of intense music making. Groups should choose two works for special study and a large library will be available for repertoire exploration. Students may have a warm-up session from 5-6pm on the arrival day. Limited spaces but also see 10 Mar. Louise Latham (Gr. Manchester www.highamhall.com/louise-latham) Residential: £236 Non-residential: £169

Find out more »

GET WEAVING! YOUR OWN TARTAN

February 10th at 18:30 to February 13th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Perfect for beginners and those wanting to develop their skill further. Design your own tartan, then dress the loom. Weave a scarf in your own colour combination. Jan will cover all the technical information. Jan Beadle (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/jan-beadle) Residential: £324 Non-residential: £226 Yarns £15 max from Tutor.

Find out more »

DISCOVER WHITE WORK EMBROIDERY (3 NIGHT)

February 12th at 18:30 to February 15th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Be shown White Work stitching techniques (white fabric, white thread) including Cut Work, Pulled work, Schwalm and Mountmellick - Choose your stitch! Suitable for embroidery newbies and experienced. Angie Burt (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/angie-burt) Residential: £324 Non-residential: £226

Find out more »

PRINTMAKING WORKSHOP

February 13th at 18:30 to February 17th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Explore a wide range of techniques: woodcut (cutting in plankwood); engraving (on endgrain hardwood or plastic); drypoint (drawing on metal with steel); and etching, (using acid to etch on a zinc plate). Make handmade prints to your own design. Beginners or experienced. Peter Collins (Gloucestershire www.highamhall.com/peter-collins) Residential: £418 Non-residential: £291

Find out more »

YOUR OWN PAINTED LONG SILK SCARF (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

February 15th at 18:30 to February 17th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* With the right equipment, after a little practice, be guided to paint your own Silk Scarf with care and artistic skill. The finished article will have a professional finish as well as being a unique piece of wearable art! Pippa Sheather (N. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/pippa-sheather) Residential: £246 Non-residential: £179 inc. all materials

Find out more »

NEW YEAR YOGA RETREAT WEEKEND

February 15th at 18:30 to February 17th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Explore the Yoga tradition, balancing seasonal effects through diet, daily routine and yoga practice. Essentially practical, using posture, breathing, meditative techniques and just a tiny bit of theory. All levels. NEW TUTOR: Amanda Oakes (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/amanda-oakes) Amanda has replaced Anne McDarby (retired). Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164

Find out more »

DISCOVERING PEN AND INK

February 17th at 18:30 to February 19th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Learn how to create textures, tonal areas and decorative patterns in Pen and Ink, then how to combine them to create a finished drawing. With demos throughout and access to a variety of pens to experiment with, by the end you should be able to handle your materials with confidence. Jane Beech (Cheshire www.highamhall.com/jane-beech) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164

Find out more »

MUSIC APPRECIATION: WAGNER’S ORCHESTRAL MUSIC

February 17th at 18:30 to February 19th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

A complete survey of Wagner's concert music from the Rienzi Overture to Parsifal's Good Friday music via Ring favourites like Ride of the Valkyries, Magic Fire Music and Siegfried's Rhine Journey. All graphically introduced but with no singing! Ian France (www.highamhall.com/ian-france) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164

Find out more »

PHILOSOPHY: THE ENLIGHTENMENT

February 20th at 18:30 to February 22nd at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

The 'Age of Reason' allowed the scientific age to begin. The victory of rational, scientific discovery over dogma once again disinterred the possibilities of philosophy, and such thinkers as Descartes, Hume and Kant were born. We will examine these thinkers and their work. Darren Harper (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/darren-harper) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164

Find out more »

PEOPLE WHO CHANGED THE WORLD

February 20th at 18:30 to February 22nd at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* Those who had a major impact on the world and changed the course of History as a result of their achievements (political, artistic, industrial, business, innovative, scientific, musical, philosophical and psychological.) Examples include Da Vinci, Curie, Cleopatra, Luther King, Mandela, Mother Teresa and many others. NEW TUTOR: Michael Dimambro (Co, Durham www.highamhall.com/michael-dimambro) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164

Find out more »
+ Export Events