Loading Courses

Past Courses › PERFORMING ARTS

Courses Search and Views Navigation

Course Views Navigation

March 2019

FRENCH AND BELGIAN FILM

March 8th at 18:30 to March 10th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

For all cinéphiles and/or language buffs. Three films in French (English subtitles) stimulating discussion in English (and French, if appropriate). Au revoir là-haut (2018 César for best for direction and adaptation) - Albert Duponte Ma Loute/Slack Bay (2017) - Bruno Dumond Redoutable (2018) - Michel Hazanavicius Sylvie Jefferson (native French speaker www.highamhall.com/sylvie-jefferson) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164  

Find out more »

STRING CHAMBER MUSIC WORKSHOP

March 10th at 16:30 to March 12th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

A country house - ideal for chamber music. Preformed strings or piano groups can join us for 2 days of intense music making. Groups should choose two works for special study and a large library will be available for repertoire exploration. Students may have a warm-up session from 5-6pm on the arrival day. Limited spaces but also see 10 Feb. Louise Latham (Gr. Manchester www.highamhall.com/louise-latham) Residential: £236 Non-residential: £169

Find out more »

PIANO WORKSHOP

March 17th at 18:30 to March 19th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

For up to ten Players* of Grade 7 and above. Prepare a 20 minute programme to be played and discussed; if possible, bring along spare copies of pieces for others. Suggestions for improvement, style, technique and presentation will be offered. Non-competitive with a joint recital on the last morning. *Non-performing Listeners also welcome. John Gough (Chester www.highamhall.com/john-gough) Residential: £236 Non-residential: £169

Find out more »

OPEN EARS DAY – BRITISH ORCHESTRAL MUSIC SINCE 1960

March 20th at 10:00 to 16:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* Delve into our musical heritage since Vaughan Williams. Appreciate the nature and scope of our country's continuing musical legacy through a day of informed listening and discussion. Tim Shuker (S. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/tim-shuker) £64 including lunch & refreshments

Find out more »

RECORDER CONSORT WEEKEND

March 22nd at 18:30 to March 24th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

An opportunity for recorder players to enjoy a weekend of mostly one-to-a-part consort playing, in anything from three to eight parts, and to discover some possibly unfamiliar music. Mainly Renaissance, but we may extend into some Baroque and 20th Century music too. (Coincides with the Viol Weekend, so some interaction may be possible.) Philip Gruar (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/philip-gruar) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164

Find out more »

VIOL CONSORT WEEKEND

March 22nd at 18:30 to March 24th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Now in its third year at Higham, this friendly course (for all standards except beginner) will focus on consorts by William Byrd and John Jenkins. For those who wish there can be some interaction with the recorder course running alongside. Elizabeth Dodd (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/elizabeth-dodd) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164

Find out more »

April 2019

MOZART PIANO CONCERTOS

April 3rd at 18:30 to April 5th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Most Mozart devotees would agree that his 27 piano concertos hold a special place in their affections - Classical form and content combined with effortless grace and refinement. Amongst others, we will enjoy nos. 20(D minor), 21(C), 23(A), 24(C minor) and 25(C). Ian France (www.highamhall.com/ian-france) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166

Find out more »

RECORDER ENSEMBLES

April 5th at 18:30 to April 7th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Play music in a recorder ensemble of up to thirty players. For recorder players of intermediate standard (roughly Grades 4-6 AB/TCL). Music will range from Renaissance to the present day, from three to eight or more parts. Technical and stylistic guidance as appropriate. Annemarie Klein (Edinburgh www.highamhall.com/annemarie-klein) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166

Find out more »

WAGNER’S TRISTAN: MYTH AND REALITY – A GREAT OPERA CONSIDERED FROM A DIFFERENT ANGLE

April 12th at 18:30 to April 14th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

One of the most famous love stories, some of the most hypnotic music ever written, audiences intrigued for over a century by its revolutionary design. We will, however, dig deeper and discover how, perhaps, Wagner's own marriage break-up and his passions for Mathilde Wesendonk and Cosima von Bulow spill over and make-believe reflects reality throughout a plot related to its composer's own social traumas. Julian Williamson (London www.highamhall.com/julian-williamson) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166

Find out more »

SINGING SOLO – NEXT STEPS

April 16th at 18:30 to April 19th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Extended small workshop for Singers already with a little (recent or otherwise) experience, who perhaps sing in choirs and/or have sung a few solos as amateurs. Benefit from some 1:1 with Sian and time for private practice. The 2nd of 3 available levels of SINGING SOLO. Sian Carys Allen (N. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/sian-carys-allen) Residential: £328 Non-residential: £229

Find out more »
+ Export Events