Loading Courses

Upcoming Courses

Courses Search and Views Navigation

Course Views Navigation

February 2021

RAKU POTTERY WITH CHRIS BARNES

February 21st at 18:30 to February 26th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

hris will help you to create your own pieces of Raku pottery and sculpture, and experience the excitement of Raku firing. With lectures, demos and discussion, also visit places of interest to potters: Blackwell Arts and Crafts House and a local gallery or studio. Chris Barnes (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/chris-barnes) Residential: £530 Non-residential: £370 (inc. Field Trip)

Find out more »

WINTER LANDSCAPE – SKETCHING AND PAINTING

February 21st at 18:30 to February 25th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Suitable for intermediate to advanced level. Explore the Lake District in winter when colour and shadow are at their most varied and dramatic. With demos, exercises and expert artistic advice throughout, experience outdoor sketching trips using Mixed Media and develop a studio project in the painting medium of your choice. Lionel Playford (N. Pennines www.highamhall.com/lionel-playford) SPECIAL PRICE: Residential: £431 Non-residential: £299 (inc. Field Trips, weather dependent)

Find out more »

C2102KQ RUSKIN LACE (EXTRA COURSE)

February 21st at 18:30 to February 23rd at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*Extra Course* Drawn thread and cut linen work with geometric designs using needlepoint lace techniques. Suitable for both beginners (starter pack £12 from Tutor), and experienced. Karen Quickfall (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/karen-quickfall) Residential: £238 Non-residential: £169

Find out more »

PATCHWORK QUILTING: TAKE A PANEL

February 25th at 18:30 to February 28th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Enjoy a long weekend making this quilt. Pretty, bold or bright, the choice is yours. Enjoy good food and company in fantastic surroundings. Janette Fairer (S. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/janette-fairer) Residential: £335 Non-residential: £234

Find out more »

DRAMATIC SKIES, LAND AND SEA-SCAPE IN SOFT PASTELS WITH EILEEN GARDNER

February 26th at 18:30 to March 1st at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

An exceptional chance to extend skills with Pastel for Seascapes, Dramatic Skies and Landscapes. Demos throughout, support for beginners, encouragement for more experienced with demanding, yet supportive critiques to enable all to reach full potential. Eileen Gardner (Fife www.highamhall.com/eileen-gardner) Residential: £335 Non-residential: £234

Find out more »

TRY FOR A DAY: EARLY DANCE

February 28th at 10:00 to 16:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Have a go at some simple Court Dances (e.g. Slow, stately Pavan, lively Galliard) from Elizabethan England and Renaissance Italy and an C18th Minuet. Easy for beginners upwards. Aspects of music, dance, costume and etiquette will be discussed. Not just for dancers, but also anyone interested in getting closer to music, drama and history. Elizabeth Dodd (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/elizabeth-dodd) £68 (inc. lunch and refreshments) Ends with Tea. A repeat of 4th Oct.

Find out more »

WIND SERENADES – DIRECTED BY LAURENCE PERKINS

February 28th at 18:30 to March 4th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

A course for wind players from Grade 8 to Diploma, working in detail on wind chamber repertoire for large and smaller ensembles. There will be an informal concert on the morning of the last day. Laurence Perkins (Manchester www.highamhall.com/laurence-perkins) Residential: £436 Non-residential: £304 (deposit £150) LWe can pick up at 5pm from Penrith Rail Station (+£20) BY PRIOR ARRANGEMENT ON BOOKING. All applications to be made initially through Laurence to ascertain ensemble line-up. www.laurenceperkins.com/wind-serenades

Find out more »

March 2021

DRAW LIKE A CARTOONIST

March 3rd at 18:30 to March 5th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Break free and get to grips with using simple lines to depict figures, faces and simple scenes. Fun for absolute non-artists and useful for artists alike. What's more, your approach to life could change forever! Colin Shelbourn (S. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/colin-shelbourn) Residential: £238 Non-residential: £169

Find out more »

DISCOVERING PEN AND INK

March 5th at 13:30 to March 7th at 18:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Create textures, tonal areas and decorative patterns in Pen and Ink, then combine them to create a finished drawing. With demos throughout and access to a variety of pens to experiment with, by the end you should be able to handle your materials with confidence. Jane Beech (Cheshire www.highamhall.com/jane-beech) Residential: £238 Non-residential: £169

Find out more »

STRING CHAMBER MUSIC WORKSHOP

March 7th at 13:30 to March 9th at 18:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Higham is the ideal country house venue for chamber music. The course is for preformed string chamber groups (may include piano) Self chosen repertoire. Louise Latham (Gr. Manchester www.highamhall.com/louise-latham) with Heather Bills Residential: £243 Non-residential: £174 An alternative to 7 Feb.

Find out more »
+ Export Events