Loading Courses

Past Courses

Courses Search and Views Navigation

Course Views Navigation

June 2019

BUTTERFLIES AND MOTHS OF THE COUNTRYSIDE OF CUMBRIA

June 2nd at 18:30 to June 5th at 16:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* For lovers of natural history and the countryside we will walk contrasting Cumbrian sites where conservation management has helped the habitats of rare butterflies inc. Marsh Fritillary, Mountain Ringlet, Small Blue and The Forester. Presentations and discussion will consider wider conservation issues. NEW TUTOR: Chris Winnick with Claire Winnick (S. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/chris-winnick) Residential: £348 Non-residential: £249 (inc. Field Trip; ends 4pm on the last day)

Find out more »

VICTORIAN ARTISTS: THEIR WORK, MODELS AND MUSES

June 5th at 18:30 to June 7th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* Examine various art genres of the exciting Victorian era: Pre-Raphaelitism, Neoclassicism, The Aesthetic Movement and Social Realism - with reference to the highly-significant role of Models and their relationships, professional and otherwise, with the foremost Artists of the day. Dr Peter Bryden (E. Sussex www.highamhall.com/peter-bryden) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166

Find out more »

SKETCHING AND WATERCOLOUR (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

June 5th at 18:30 to June 10th at 09:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Record your travels with rapid sketches in pen and watercolour. Sketchpads and other materials provided. For beginners and painters to develop out-of-doors confidence. Involves minibus and short distances - destinations tailored to suit the group. Viv Philpot (Hampshire www.highamhall.com/viv-philpot) assisted by Geoff Philpot Residential: £495 Non-residential: £333 (inc. all Materials and Field Trips)

Find out more »

RUSKIN LACE

June 5th at 18:30 to June 7th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Drawn thread and cut linen work with geometric designs using needlepoint lace techniques. Suitable for both beginners (starter pack £12 from tutor), and experienced. Karen Quickfall (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/karen-quickfall) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166

Find out more »

SAXOPHONE WEEKEND (EXTENDED SUMMER WEEKEND)

June 6th at 18:30 to June 10th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Players of more than 18 months. Ensemble coaching and expert support from two tutors. Play in groups of varying size, altered at each session. An extensive music library available. Sight-reading beneficial. Now extended to 4 nights. Debbie Scherer & Sarah Jobson (Yorkshire www.highamhall.com/debbie-scherer-sarah-jobson) Residential: £447 Non-residential: £318

Find out more »

BEDE’S ECCLESIASTICAL HISTORY OF THE ENGLISH PEOPLE

June 7th at 18:30 to June 9th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* Bede's writings describe the conversion of England to Christianity in the 7th century, but what were his sources and did he have an agenda? Using Bede's Ecclesiastical History (ESSENTIAL - Penguin Classics £10.99) and supplementing it with other primary sources (provided), investigate the growth of the early Church in its secular and cultural context. Philip Holdsworth (N. Wales www.highamhall.com/philip-holdsworth) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166

Find out more »

LAKELAND BIRDS

June 9th at 18:30 to June 14th at 09:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

The Lake District has few equals for all-round bird watching. Find early summer residents and visitors, and, both in- and out-doors, explore habitats from upland fells to rivers, lakes and coast. Comfortable pace, ideal for learning to recognise birds by both sight and sound. Reasonable walking required (Level 2) Keith Offord (www.highamhall.com/keith-offord) Residential: £500 Non-residential: £338 (inc. Field Trips - fair amount of walking)

Find out more »

WRITING FICTION: STRUCTURE AND SUSPENSE

June 10th at 18:30 to June 13th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

A residential Creative Writing course for both beginning and intermediate writers interested in flash fiction, short stories, novellas or the novel. Lectures on structure and suspense. Writing exercises, individual tutorials and uninterrupted writing time in a beautiful rural location. Darren Harper (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/darren-harper) Residential: £328 Non-residential: £229 Limited Spaces

Find out more »

CHINESE PAINTING (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

June 10th at 18:30 to June 12th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Extend creativity and be guided by an expert in a traditional craft reflecting both philosophy and tradition. Learn brush techniques, develop sensitive hand control. No experience, not even art, required! Chi Zhang (Edinburgh www.highamhall.com/chi-zhang) Residential: £253 Non-residential: £186 inc. all materials

Find out more »

WATERCOLOURS WITH CONFIDENCE

June 10th at 18:30 to June 14th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Paint in a variety of settings: Studio, Higham grounds and Lakes National Park. Enjoy demos, paint-alongs and painting en plein-air. Photograph and print your own scenes ready for painting in the studio. Develop skills, improve confidence. Beginners upwards. Mike Dobson MBE (N. Yorkshire www.highamhall.com/mike-dobson) Residential: £423 Non-residential: £294

Find out more »
+ Export Events