Loading Courses

Past Courses

Courses Search and Views Navigation

Course Views Navigation

February 2019

DISCOVER WHITE WORK EMBROIDERY (3 NIGHT)

February 12th at 18:30 to February 15th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Be shown White Work stitching techniques (white fabric, white thread) including Cut Work, Pulled work, Schwalm and Mountmellick - Choose your stitch! Suitable for embroidery newbies and experienced. Angie Burt (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/angie-burt) Residential: £324 Non-residential: £226

Find out more »

PRINTMAKING WORKSHOP

February 13th at 18:30 to February 17th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Explore a wide range of techniques: woodcut (cutting in plankwood); engraving (on endgrain hardwood or plastic); drypoint (drawing on metal with steel); and etching, (using acid to etch on a zinc plate). Make handmade prints to your own design. Beginners or experienced. Peter Collins (Gloucestershire www.highamhall.com/peter-collins) Residential: £418 Non-residential: £291

Find out more »

YOUR OWN PAINTED LONG SILK SCARF (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

February 15th at 18:30 to February 17th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* With the right equipment, after a little practice, be guided to paint your own Silk Scarf with care and artistic skill. The finished article will have a professional finish as well as being a unique piece of wearable art! Pippa Sheather (N. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/pippa-sheather) Residential: £246 Non-residential: £179 inc. all materials

Find out more »

NEW YEAR YOGA RETREAT WEEKEND

February 15th at 18:30 to February 17th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Explore the Yoga tradition, balancing seasonal effects through diet, daily routine and yoga practice. Essentially practical, using posture, breathing, meditative techniques and just a tiny bit of theory. All levels. NEW TUTOR: Amanda Oakes (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/amanda-oakes) Amanda has replaced Anne McDarby (retired). Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164

Find out more »

ACRYLICS: FLEXIBILITY IS KEY – OPTIONS, ENDLESS

February 17th at 18:30 to February 19th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* Produce small, quick impressions along with an expanded project, broadening your skill base and taking your work forward through a selection of pieces. Open your mind to choices so you can grow as an artist. Work from life in and around Higham Hall in conjunction with supplied references. Brian Smith (Cotswolds www.highamhall.com/brian-smith Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164 A 3-night WATERCOLOUR COURSE with Brian follows - attend both courses, save £25.

Find out more »

DISCOVERING PEN AND INK

February 17th at 18:30 to February 19th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Learn how to create textures, tonal areas and decorative patterns in Pen and Ink, then how to combine them to create a finished drawing. With demos throughout and access to a variety of pens to experiment with, by the end you should be able to handle your materials with confidence. Jane Beech (Cheshire www.highamhall.com/jane-beech) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164

Find out more »

MUSIC APPRECIATION: WAGNER’S ORCHESTRAL MUSIC

February 17th at 18:30 to February 19th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

A complete survey of Wagner's concert music from the Rienzi Overture to Parsifal's Good Friday music via Ring favourites like Ride of the Valkyries, Magic Fire Music and Siegfried's Rhine Journey. All graphically introduced but with no singing! Ian France (www.highamhall.com/ian-france) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164

Find out more »

WATERCOLOUR LAID BARE

February 19th at 18:30 to February 22nd at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* Simple elements of paper, pigment and water offer so many alternatives for the artist to create individual work. Brian can show you the many options available with quick exercises and detailed examination of choices to create striking, successful work. Use monochrome to focus on simple values. We will also cover complex issues to lift work to the next level. Brian Smith (Cotswolds www.highamhall.com/brian-smith Residential: £324 Non-residential: £226 Follows a 2-night ACRYLICS COURSE with Brian - attend both courses, save…

Find out more »

PHILOSOPHY: THE ENLIGHTENMENT

February 20th at 18:30 to February 22nd at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

The 'Age of Reason' allowed the scientific age to begin. The victory of rational, scientific discovery over dogma once again disinterred the possibilities of philosophy, and such thinkers as Descartes, Hume and Kant were born. We will examine these thinkers and their work. Darren Harper (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/darren-harper) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164

Find out more »

PEOPLE WHO CHANGED THE WORLD

February 20th at 18:30 to February 22nd at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* Those who had a major impact on the world and changed the course of History as a result of their achievements (political, artistic, industrial, business, innovative, scientific, musical, philosophical and psychological.) Examples include Da Vinci, Curie, Cleopatra, Luther King, Mandela, Mother Teresa and many others. NEW TUTOR: Michael Dimambro (Co, Durham www.highamhall.com/michael-dimambro) Residential: £231 Non-residential: £164

Find out more »
+ Export Events