Loading Courses

Past Courses › ART

Courses Search and Views Navigation

Course Views Navigation

November 2019

ART PATRONS AND THE ART COLLECTIONS OF BRITAIN

November 3rd at 18:30 to November 5th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Delve into the private collectors and the patrons who laid the foundation stones of our great public collections: monarchs and aristocrats, the names of Courtauld, Davies, Lever, Burrell, Tate, Sainsbury, Cohen and Saatchi – to name but a few. Naturally, this will be lavishly illustrated! Wayne Bennett (Dorset www.highamhall.com/wayne-bennett) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166 (Preceded by Wayne’s GEORGIAN course – attend both, save £25)

Find out more »

PAINTING WITH CERI (TWO NIGHT

November 5th at 18:30 to November 7th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

A short workshop for students serious about developing skills, capitalising on Ceri’s Fine Arts background. Be encouraged and receive suggestions on how to improve ideas and essential skills with form, tone and colour. Boost your own artistic strengths, challenge the things you find tricky. All welcome. Ceri Allen (Carlisle www.highamhall.com/ceri-allen) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166 We also offer, with Ceri, a THREE NIGHTER and an OILS course

Find out more »

CAPTURING SKYE: EXPLORING EXPRESSIVE MIXED MEDIA

November 7th at 18:30 to November 12th at 09:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Work with (don’t fight against) the fast-drying nature of acrylics and use Mixed Media to create vibrant, atmospheric paintings (from reference images of your tutor’s Isle of Skye home), layer by layer. For all levels wanting to loosen up with a willingness to get paint on hands, possibly clothes! Marion Boddy-Evans (Skye www.highamhall.com/ marion-boddy-evans) Residential: £475 Non-residential: £313

Find out more »

COLLAGE AND ACRYLIC WITH FRANCES WINDER

November 12th at 18:30 to November 15th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Create and explore using collage to really free up your work. Extend your Acrylic vocabulary, build up surfaces with gesso and use watercolour, impasto effects, rags and cards to paint as well as brushes and rollers. Frances Winder (S. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/frances-winder) Residential: £328 Non-residential: £229 Frances’ work will be on exhibition at Higham 1 October 2019 to 31 January 2020.

Find out more »

ANIMAL PORTRAITS IN PASTEL (EVERYTHING PROVIDED

November 13th at 18:30 to November 15th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Starting with basics, complete, step-by-step, a tutor-led portrait (of a leopard). Enjoy using pastels in the correct manner to achieve impressive, longlasting results. Beginners and improvers. Practical tip: Bring a larger-than-A3 folder and an old shirt! Paul Holmes (Staffordshire www.highamhall.com/paul-holmes) Residential: £253 Non-residential: £186 (inc. materials) Paul’s more advanced course is on 19 Jauary.

Find out more »

BOTANICAL COLOURED PENCIL: SEASONAL CELEBRATIONS

November 17th at 18:30 to November 22nd at 09:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Take inspiration from the use of botanical subjects associated with winter celebrations – Halloween, Bonfire Night or Christmas. Plenty of help and a chance to try things out. Susan Christopher-Coulson (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/susan-christopher-coulson) Residential: £485 Non-residential: £323

Find out more »

SEEING WITH ARTIST’S EYES: VICKI NORMAN WORKSHOP

November 17th at 18:30 to November 21st at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Irrespective of subject, the most important skill for any artist is observation. It isn’t all about pure talent; great artists have been taught what to look for! Through innovative and enjoyable exercises, study the traditional elements of line, tone, form and colour in an intensive, rewarding course. All levels, any media welcome. Vicki Norman (Shropshire www.highamhall.com/vicki-norman) Residential: £423 Non-residential: £294

Find out more »

SOFT PASTEL WITH SUE FORD

November 21st at 18:30 to November 24th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Aim for vibrant and atmospheric paintings, be inspired using soft pastels on a variety of different backgrounds. Step by step and personal guidance. For all levels to enjoy. Sue Ford (Yorkshire www.highamhall.com/sue-ford) Residential: £328 Non-residential: £229

Find out more »

December 2019

PAINTING BLACK AND WHITE WITH LINDA BIRCH

December 2nd at 18:30 to December 4th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

An introduction to some black and white technique, pen, brush and charcoal including a simple form of engraving aka Scratch/ Scraperboard. Landscape or animals as subjects. All welcome. Linda Birch (Co. Durham www.highamhall.com/linda-birch) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166

Find out more »

TRY FOR A DAY: BOTANICAL PAINTING FOR THE TERRIFIED

December 5th at 10:00 to 17:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

A (short and gentle) amble outside to photograph plants, taking Pencils to capture the chorus and do short sketches. These will then be developed using watercolours. Anyone welcome, even if you feel you will be no good! All materials provided and you get to keep your sketchbook! Lis Bramwell (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/lis-bramwell) £76 (inc. materials, lunch and refreshments) Repeated 12 March. A next stage for the LESS TERRIFIED is on 28 January.

Find out more »
+ Export Events