Loading Courses

Upcoming Courses › CRAFTS

Courses Search and Views Navigation

Course Views Navigation

April 2019

EASTER EMBROIDERY EXTRAVAGANZA (SPECIAL PRICE)

April 19th at 18:30 to April 22nd at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Enjoy trying different hand embroideries, whether you're a newbie or oldie, on this seasonal escape. Choose from a selection of kits to include techniques in Crewel work, Calico Gardens and counted thread works. Can become addictive! Materials available from Tutor. Angie Burt (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/angie-burt) SPECIAL PRICE: 3 Nights for the price of 2: Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166

Find out more »

LINO-CUT PRINT MAKING

April 22nd at 18:30 to April 25th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Create professional-looking cards and pictures from several lino-cuts using Easycut lino under the guidance of one of the UK's best - Clare's illustrations appear in books, magazines and packaging (and not just any packaging!). Clare Melinsky (Dumfriesshire www.highamhall.com/clare-melinsky) Residential: £328 Non-residential: £229 (Materials c£15)

Find out more »

EXPLORING COLLAGE WITH PEN AND ACRYLIC

April 25th at 18:30 to April 29th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* Incorporating collage techniques with your art work can expand your appreciation for colour and the possibilities of creative development. Existing artists may work on their own subject with professional advice, or you can be guided in a project of a Street Scene with buildings which will flex your artistic muscles. Sue Ford (Yorkshire www.highamhall.com/sue-ford) Residential: £423 Non-residential: £294

Find out more »

PATCHWORK QUILTING: BARGELLO

April 30th at 18:30 to May 3rd at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Easy small quilt or larger more intricate quilt - your choice. With help on hand for both beginner and more advanced. Enjoy a break with friendly quilters of all abilities. Janette Fairer (S. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/janette-fairer) Residential: £328 Non-residential: £229

Find out more »

May 2019

BOOKBINDING AND RESTORATION

May 10th at 18:30 to May 14th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Old books are history and deserve TLC, so bring along at least three, (no larger than A4). Be guided through each process, learn techniques of paper repair and cover restoration using modern materials, keeping as much of the original as is practical. Doug Mitchell (Northamptonshire www.highamhall.com/doug-mitchell) Residential: £423 Non-residential: £294 (Materials at cost)

Find out more »

RUSKIN LACE

May 10th at 18:30 to May 12th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Drawn thread and cut linen work with geometric designs using needlepoint lace techniques. Suitable for both beginners (starter pack £12 from tutor), and experienced. Karen Quickfall (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/karen-quickfall) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166

Find out more »

WOVEN TAPESTRY DAY (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

May 13th at 10:00 to 17:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Taster or Refresher. Come with no experience or bring work you want help getting back to. Looms will be ready-warped, and be shown how to weave simple shapes, mix colours and control your tension. Louise Martin (Clackmannanshire www.highamhall.com/louise-martin) £76 inc. materials, lunch & refreshments Louise has two courses following.

Find out more »

WOVEN TAPESTRY: CAMOUFLAGE

May 13th at 18:30 to May 15th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

More than meets the eye. Ways of weaving imagery concealed within design, exploring mixes to give sutle shifts of colour and lustre. Perfect for both beginners and experienced. Louise Martin (Clackmannanshire www.highamhall.com/louise-martin) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166 (Also see TAPESTRY DAY, preceding, and OUTLINING, following)

Find out more »

WOVEN TAPESTRY: OUTLINING

May 15th at 18:30 to May 17th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Outline an image within a tapestry using a woven line. Perfect for those with some experience. Louise Martin (Clackmannanshire www.highamhall.com/louise-martin) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166 (CAMOUFLAGE precedes)

Find out more »

WILDLIFE WOODCARVING

May 15th at 18:30 to May 17th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Use various tools and techniques to create a finished bird, mammal or fish (Song Thrush, Crested Grebe, Swan, Owl, Otter, Stoat, Squirrel...) with suggestions on how to mount and display. Amaze yourself and develop a new rewarding hobby. For both novice and developing carvers. Ron Dickens (www.highamhall.com/ron-dickens) & David Harter (www.highamhall.com/david-harter) Residential: £253 Non-residential: £186

Find out more »
+ Export Events