Loading Courses

Upcoming Courses › CRAFTS

Courses Search and Views Navigation

Course Views Navigation

June 2019

NEEDLEFELTING

June 23rd at 18:30 to June 25th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Whether you wish to work on a picture, 3D animal, a fun design, or even your own unfinished object, come and enjoy the art of needlefelting under sympathetic, patient guidance. Experienced and beginners welcome. Lana Norman (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/lana-norman) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166

Find out more »

SUMMER QUILTERS’ RETREAT

June 23rd at 18:30 to June 30th at 09:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

A choice of two-colour quilts, small lap quilt, cross over bag and several purses. Choose one project or try several small ones. Relax and indulge yourself! Janette Fairer (S. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/janette-fairer) Supporting WOOLFEST. SPECIAL PRICE - Full week with (optional) day off for WOOLFEST: Residential: £558 Non-residential: £377

Find out more »

YOUR OWN PAINTED LONG SILK SCARF (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

June 28th at 18:30 to June 30th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

After trying things out, use artistic skill to paint your own Silk Scarf. Aim for a professional finish for a unique piece of wearable Art. Pippa Sheather (N. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/pippa-sheather) Residential: £248 Non-residential: £181 (inc. all materials)

Find out more »

July 2019

PEWTERWORK ON GLASS

July 7th at 18:30 to July 10th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Use Arts and Crafts period techniques to create decorative tea light holders and vases. You need some experience in basic Pewterwork and be able to safely use a fine craft knife for cutting thin pewter sheet, before applying it to glass. Bonnie Mackintosh (W. Sussex www.highamhall.com/bonnie-mackintosh) Residential: £333 Non-residential: £234 (Materials supplied at cost)

Find out more »

BOOKBINDING: THE BRADEL BINDING

July 19th at 18:30 to July 22nd at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Bradel (AKA bonnet or bristol board binding) is an 18th century German Case binding resembling a case binding as it has a hollow back and visible joint, but is built up on the book. Many consider it stronger. A fun book to make using coloured cloth and marbled cover paper to make it just that little bit more special. Doug Mitchell (Northamptonshire www.highamhall.com/doug-mitchell) Residential: £328 Non-residential: £229 (Materials at cost)

Find out more »

CALICO GARDENS EMBROIDERY (3 NIGHT)

July 23rd at 18:30 to July 26th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Hand stitches in neutral shades with subtle enhancements creating texture and 3D effects. Beginners or experienced welcome, work on either a Calico Garden Sampler to frame or your own project. Angie Burt (Lancashire www.highamhall.com/angie-burt) Residential: £328 Non-residential: £229

Find out more »

CERAMIC SCULPTURE: GET A-HEAD!

July 28th at 18:30 to August 4th at 09:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Make face and head sculptures up to 30cm tall to be glazed and fired in a raku kiln at the end. Make a single larger piece using Cumbrian brick clay, fired later by us when dry. This is the real deal! Martin Copley (S. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/martin-copley) Residential: £621 Non-residential: £430

Find out more »

August 2019

PRINTMAKING SUMMER WORKSHOP

August 16th at 18:30 to August 20th at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Explore techniques: woodcut, (cutting an image in plankwood); wood engraving (on endgrain hardwood or plastic); drypoint (drawing on metal with a steelpoint) and etching (using acid to etch on a zinc plate). Create prints to your own design. Beginners or experienced. Peter Collins (Gloucestershire www.highamhall.com/peter-collins) Residential: £423 Non-residential: £294

Find out more »

RELIEF AND CREATIVE WOODCARVING SUMMER SCHOOL

August 20th at 18:30 to August 26th at 09:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Transform a block of wood into a unique picture. Bring ideas or use Sharon's books for inspiration. Transfer a pattern, use chisels, learn techniques. Beginners and experienced. Sharon Littley (S. Wales www.highamhall.com/sharon-littley) Residential: £558 Non-residential: £377

Find out more »

UPHOLSTERY WEEKEND

August 30th at 18:30 to September 1st at 13:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Hands-on! Bring chair, stool, ottoman, headboard... build up from scratch or just re-cover, tackle interior paddings with traditional or modern techniques. Simon will make prior contact to advise on materials. Simon Ireland (N. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/simon-ireland) Residential: £233 Non-residential: £166 Materials at cost

Find out more »
+ Export Events