Loading Courses

Courses Search and Views Navigation

Course Views Navigation

February 2019

TRY FOR A DAY: BOTANICAL PAINTING FOR THE TERRIFIED

February 28th at 10:00 to 17:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

A (short and gentle) amble outside to photograph plants, taking pencils to capture the chorus and do short sketches. These will then be developed using watercolours. Anyone welcome, even if you feel you will be no good! All materials provided and you get to keep your sketchbook! Lis Bramwell (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/lis-bramwell) £74 including materials, lunch & refreshments

Find out more »

March 2019

OPEN EARS DAY – BRITISH ORCHESTRAL MUSIC SINCE 1960

March 20th at 10:00 to 16:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

*NEW* Delve into our musical heritage since Vaughan Williams. Appreciate the nature and scope of our country's continuing musical legacy through a day of informed listening and discussion. Tim Shuker (S. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/tim-shuker) £64 including lunch & refreshments

Find out more »

TRY FOR A DAY: CHINESE PAINTING (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

March 30th at 10:00 to 17:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Chinese painting techniques with soft brushes and ink are fulfilling for non-artists and artists alike. Absorbing and controlled, select from a range of demonstrated subjects such as bamboo and trees. Chi Zhang (Edinburgh www.highamhall.com/chi-zhang) £76 inc. materials, lunch & refreshments

Find out more »

April 2019

YOGA AND MINDFULNESS FOR SPRING

April 28th at 14:00 to 17:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Come into balance with the energies of Spring to detoxify body and mind - includes Energy Medicine Yoga practices. For all levels who can practise unaided; standing, lying and sitting on the mat. Ask for pre-course information sheet (also available here on Linda's Tutor page) to find out what you need to bring. Linda Allam (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/linda-allam) £18 including refreshments

Find out more »

May 2019

A DAY OF T’AI CHI

May 11th at 10:00 to 16:30
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

A disciplined, principled approach to your body and its ease and comfort of movement, improving balance. This relaxing day of guided gentle T'ai Chi, helped by a good lunch, gives time to develop awareness of how we use our bodies and relate to our environment. Sheila Aimson (E. Cumbria www.highamhall.com/sheila-aimson) £66 including lunch

Find out more »

CUMBRIA’S PAST: MORE FROM THE FILM ARCHIVE

May 12th at 14:00 to 17:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Archivists Andrew and Jim rake the archives once again for rare footage bringing Cumbria's past to life. As ever, a uniquely privileged insight into our local history. Andrew Leitch & Jim Bownass (Cumbria - www.highamhall.com/andrew-leitch-jim-bownass) £16 including refreshments

Find out more »

WOVEN TAPESTRY DAY (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

May 13th at 10:00 to 17:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Taster or Refresher. Come with no experience or bring work you want help getting back to. Looms will be ready-warped, and be shown how to weave simple shapes, mix colours and control your tension. Louise Martin (Clackmannanshire www.highamhall.com/louise-martin) £76 inc. materials, lunch & refreshments Louise has two courses following.

Find out more »

OIL PAINTING IN A DAY (EVERYTHING PROVIDED)

May 18th at 09:30 to 17:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Wished you could paint in oil? Create an oil painting on canvas in a day. Following a simple step-by-step demo of a wet-on-wet technique, learn as you go. End up with a completed canvas to take home. Carol Renshaw (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/carol-renshaw) £88 incl. all materials and lunch

Find out more »

June 2019

SHORT TALK: THE CARLISLE TO NEWCASTLE MILITARY ROAD

June 2nd at 14:00 to 16:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

A post-Jacobite cross country communication route, defence to Scottish invaders. Hear about the road's building, its characters and controversy over the destruction of part of Hadrian's Wall for its stone. John Mather (Cumbria - www.highamhall.com/john-mather) SPECIAL PRICE: £12 each or two for £20.mATH

Find out more »

SHORT TALK: NOT WHAT I EXPECTED IN NEW ZEALAND: AN ARTIST PHOTOGRAPHS AOTEAROA

June 23rd at 14:00 to 16:00
Higham Hall College, Bassenthwaite Lake
Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 9SH United Kingdom

Come and share in a mass of beautiful photos of North and South Island, taken last year on Pam's (unexpectedly extended) sojourn in the southern hemisphere, as well as info from the locals about the Christchurch and Kaikoura earthquakes and the effect on their lives. Pam Grant (Cumbria www.highamhall.com/pam-grant) SPECIAL PRICE: £12 each or two for £20

Find out more »
+ Export Events